Sherbrooke, Que., Elie Beauregard, Montreal, Que., Louis Athanase David, Montreal, Que., Edouard Charles St-Père, Montreal, Que., Salter Adrian Hayden, M.A., Ph.M., Toronto, Ont., Norman McLeod Paterson, Fort William, Ont. Feb. 15, William James Hushion, Westmount, Que., Lieut.-Col. Joseph James Duffus, Peterborough, Ont. May 9, Hon. William Daum Euler, Kitchener, Ont.

New Members of the House of Commons, 1939.—Sept. 18, Douglas George Leopold Cunnington, elected for Calgary West, Alta. Dec. 11, Arthur Lisle Thompson, elected for Kent, Ont. Dec. 18, Eugène Durocher, elected for St. James (Island of Montreal), Que. Elphège Marier, elected for Jacques Cartier (Island of Montreal), Que. Walter George Brown, elected for Saskatoon City, Sask. 1940.—Jan. 2, Hon. James Layton Ralston, elected for Prince, P.E.I.

Official Appointments, 1939. - July 12, Dr. Donovan Bartley Finn, Director of the Halifax Station of the Fisheries Research Board of Canada, to be Chairman; Burke McInerney, Esq., Halifax, Secretary of the United Maritime Fishermen, to be Vice-Chairman; and William Deal, Esq., Lunenburg, Captain of a Lunenburg Fishing Vessel, to be a member of the Salt Fish Board. Robert C. Vaughan, Esq., Montreal, Que., to be Chairman; Clifton W. Sherman, Esq., Hamilton, Ont., Charles E. Gravel, Esq., Montreal, Que., and Howard B. Chase, Esq., Montreal, Que.: to be members of the Defence Purchasing Board. James Alexander Northey, Esq., Toronto, Ont.: to be a Director of the Canadian National Railway Company for the term expiring Sept. 30, 1939, vice James Young Murdock, resigned. J. E. P. Prendergast, Chief Justice of Manitoba; to be Administrator of the Government of the Province of Manitoba during the absence of the Lieutenant-Governor of the said Province, from July 12 to Aug. 14, 1939. July 26, Rt. Hon. Ernest Lapointe, Minister of Justice: to be Acting Secretary of State for Canada. Capt. Charles Edward Robinson, Goderich, Ont.: to be a Member of the Lighthouse Board of Canada. Aug. 26, Harry Bray, Esq., Toronto, Ont.: to be a Member of the Canadian Pension Commission for a period of seven years from Sept. 1, 1939. Aug. 31, To be members of the National Film Board: Hon. W. D. Euler, Minister of Trade and Commerce, Chairman; Hon. T. A. Crerar, Minister of Mines and Resources; Walter C. Murray, Esq., Saskatoon, Sask., for a period of one year; Edmond Turcotte, Esq., Montreal, Que., for a period of two years; Charles G. Cowan, Esq., Ottawa, Ont., for a period of three years; R. S. Hamer, Esq., General Executive Assistant, Dept. of Agriculture, for a period of one year; V. I. Smart, Esq., Deputy Minister of Transport, for a period of two years; and J. G. Parmelee. O.B.E., Deputy Minister of Trade and Commerce, for a period of three years. Sept. 3, Brigadier S. T. Wood, Commissioner of the Royal Canadian Mounted Police: to be Registrar General of Alien Enemies. Walter S. Thompson, Esq., Montreal, Que.: to be Chairman of the Censorship Co-ordination Committee. Hector B. McKinnon, Esq., Commissioner of Tariff; David Sim, Esq., Commissioner of Excise; Fred Alexander McGregor, Esq., Commissioner of the Combines Investigation Act; Alexander Malcolm Shaw, Esq., Director of Marketing Service, Dept. of Agriculture; Charles P. Hebert, Esq., Member of the Tariff Board: to be Members of the War-Time Prices and Trade Board, Hector B. McKinnon to be Chairman. Sept. 6, Hon. John Babington Macaulay Baxter, Chief Justice of New Brunswick: to be Administrator of the Government of the Province of New Brunswick during the illness of the Lieutenant-Governor from Aug. 31 to Sept. 30, Sept. 18, E. H. Coleman, Esq., K.C., LL.D., Under-Secretary of State, to be Chairman; Major J. F. Cummins, Dept. of National Defence, to be Vice-Chairman; Miss E. E. Saunders, M.A., of the Civil Service Commission, and Major